The Easter Parade…

Every year for many years, I made a bonnet to parade Fifth Avenue with the traditional Easter Parade (and the Bonnet Competition that used to be held at Tavern on the Green, an interesting mix of fabulous men, venerable older ladies, and fascinator fans). I provide materials, coaching in the basics of Surrealist hat-making, and encouragement to enable others in bonnet excellence. 2012 It’s hard to tell from this angle, but there is an entire boxed chocolate bunny attached to the purple hat above. By the end of the morning it started to melt in the sunshine!

Here’s a brand new creation I made just in time for New Orleans’ Easter Parade, which will be my first. I hear it’s over-the-top. I’m sure my hat will be the smallest one there! A few old friends will recognize – this year’s hat incorporates the chicken family I used for my very first Easter hat of all, and one of the first hats I ever made. It’s in the same primary colorway as my straw hat above.IMG_2928 Vintage French netting, handmade flowers, coque feathers and sinamay leaves. Here are a few photos of the Manhattan Easter Parade a few years ago with a lot of lovely ladies who all made their own hats.prep team party street crossing fashionwho are these guys?! one egg

Leave a Reply

